Forget the Candle, Give Me a Cat.

Candlelight– the tradition that every sorority girl dreams of…except  this girl. As of now, the thought of marriage scares the hell out of me. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t mind having a candlelight. It’s the commitment to marriage in a mere 2 years that gives me the chills. Most people our age don’t know what they are doing next week, so how are we supposed to know who we are going to live the rest of our lives with?

So let me explain this “Candlelight” business– The Candlelight ceremony has been a sorority tradition for as long as sororities have existed. It all starts out when a girl (usually a senior, sometimes a junior) gets 1. dropped, 2. promised, or 3. engaged. For those of you that do not know, getting “dropped” is when the girl’s boyfriend gives her his letters to wear from his fraternity. It may not seem like a big deal, but for most fraternities, it’s like their version of a Candlelight. Now, getting promised is almost like getting engaged to be engaged. I personally don’t see the point in a promise ring.. why not just get engaged when the time is right? Personally, I feel like a promise ring says “We aren’t old enough to get married, so let me lock you down…” just sayin. Last but not least, is the engagement. I feel like everyone knows what an engagement is here in ‘Merica. We tend to make a huge deal about it, which is honestly okay by me. Yes, you can confess your love to me and plan out a cheesy way to ask me to spend the rest of my life with you. You have to admit, that’s a pretty hefty question. It’s not like your asking me, “What do you want to eat for dinner tonight?”, its asking me “What do you want to eat for dinner..for the rest of your life…with me?” Huge difference.

Now don’t get me wrong, I definitely believe in finding the right person and I definitely plan on getting married one day. I also believe that everything happens for a reason, so I have never really been the girl to plan the wedding or in this case, Candlelight, before there is a 2nd party involved. Around Candlelight season you hear girls talking about how they need to have a boyfriend now so that they will be ready for the Candlelight in 2 years. Personally, I’d rather be patient and find the right person and not have a Candlelight than end up with some dead-beat fiance with no personality and a beer belly. So, yes, I’m okay with being single for as long as it takes to find the right person. So until then forget the candle, and give me a cat.

Leave a Reply

